# Deactivate a Docker account


Learn how to deactivate an individual Docker account, including the
prerequisites required for deactivation.

For information on deactivating an organization, see
[Deactivate an organization](/accounts/organization/manage/deactivate-account/).

> [!WARNING]
>
> All Docker products and services that use your Docker account are
> inaccessible after deactivating your account.

## Prerequisites

Before deactivating your Docker account, complete the following
requirements:

- If you are an organization or company owner, you must leave your
  organization or company before deactivating your Docker account:
  1. Sign in to [Docker Home](https://app.docker.com/admin) and choose your
     organization.
  1. Select **Members** and find your username.
  1. Select the **Actions** menu and then select **Leave organization**.
- If you are the sole owner of an organization, you must assign the owner
  role to another member of the organization and then remove yourself from
  the organization, or deactivate the organization. Similarly, if you are
  the sole owner of a company, either add someone else as a company owner
  and then remove yourself, or deactivate the company.
- If you have an active Docker subscription,
  [downgrade it to a Docker Personal
  subscription](/subscription-billing/plans/docker/#cancel-a-docker-plan).
- Download any images and tags you want to keep. Use
  `docker pull -a <image>` to pull all tags, or `docker pull <image>:<tag>`
  to pull a specific tag.
- If you linked a GitHub or Bitbucket account for automated builds, unlink
  it. See
  [Unlink a GitHub user
  account](/docker-hub/repos/manage/builds/link-source/#unlink-a-github-user-account)
  or
  [Unlink a Bitbucket user
  account](/docker-hub/repos/manage/builds/link-source/#unlink-a-bitbucket-user-account).

## Deactivate

After you complete the prerequisites, you can deactivate your account.

> [!WARNING]
>
> Deactivating your account is permanent and can't be undone. Make sure
> to back up any important data.

1. Sign in to [Docker Home](https://app.docker.com/login).
1. Select your avatar to open the drop-down menu.
1. Select **Account settings**.
1. Select **Deactivate**.
1. Select **Deactivate account**, then select again to confirm.

## Delete personal data

Deactivating your account does not delete your personal data. To request
personal data deletion, fill out Docker's
[Privacy request form](https://preferences.docker.com/).

