General FAQs for Docker accounts

What is a Docker ID?

A Docker ID is a username for your Docker account that lets you access Docker products. All you need is an email address to create a Docker ID, or you can sign up with your Google or GitHub account. Your Docker ID must be between 4 and 30 characters long, and can only contain numbers and lowercase letters. You can't use any special characters or spaces.

For more information, see Docker ID. If your administrator enforces single sign-on (SSO), this provisions a Docker ID for new users.

Developers may have multiple Docker IDs in order to separate their Docker IDs associated with an organization with a Docker Business or Team subscription, and their personal use Docker IDs.

What if my Docker ID is taken?

All Docker IDs are first-come, first-served except for companies that have a US Trademark on a username. If you have a trademark for your namespace, Docker Support can retrieve the Docker ID for you.

What’s an organization?

An organization in Docker is a collection of teams and repositories that are managed together. Docker users become members of an organization once they're associated with that organization by an organization owner. An organization owner is a user with administrative access to the organization. For more information on creating organizations, see Create your organization.

What's an organization name or namespace?

The organization name, sometimes referred to as the organization namespace or the organization ID, is the unique identifier of a Docker organization. The organization name can't be the same as an existing Docker ID.

What are roles?

A role is a collection of permissions granted to members. Roles define access to perform actions in Docker Hub like creating repositories, managing tags, or viewing teams. See Roles and permissions.

What’s a team?

A team is a group of Docker users that belong to an organization. An organization can have multiple teams. An organization owner can then create new teams and add members to an existing team using Docker IDs or email address and by selecting a team the user should be part of. See Create and manage a team.

What's a company?

A company is a management layer that centralizes administration of multiple organizations. Administrators can add organizations with a Docker Business subscription to a company and configure settings for all organizations under the company. See Set up your company.

Who is an organization owner?

An organization owner is an administrator who has permissions to manage repositories, add members, and manage member roles. They have full access to private repositories, all teams, billing information, and organization settings. An organization owner can also specify repository permissions for each team in the organization. Only an organization owner can enable SSO for the organization. When SSO is enabled for your organization, the organization owner can also manage users.

Docker can auto-provision Docker IDs for new end-users or users who'd like to have a separate Docker ID for company use through SSO enforcement.

The organization owner can also add additional owners to help them manage users, teams, and repositories in the organization.

Can I configure multiple SSO identity providers (IdPs) to authenticate users to a single org?

Docker SSO allows only one IdP configuration per organization. For more information, see Configure SSO and SSO FAQs.

What is a service account?

A service account is a Docker ID used for automated management of container images or containerized applications. Service accounts are typically used in automated workflows, and don't share Docker IDs with the members in the Team or Business plan. Common use cases for service accounts include mirroring content on Docker Hub, or tying in image pulls from your CI/CD process.

Can I delete or deactivate a Docker account for another user?

Only someone with access to the Docker account can deactivate the account. For more details, see Deactivating an account.

If the user is a member of your organization, you can remove the user from your organization. For more details, see Remove a member or invitee.